Image

The VIOLET TORCH FOUNDATION (VTF), Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.-WAC, and the Westchester County Press, have partnered to bring the FINANCIAL FORTITUDE initiative to Westchester County, NY.  FINANCIAL FORTITUDE is the current Economic Development Program Initiative of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. 

To highlight the importance of financial literacy, and to help the public establish and maintain healthy personal finance habits, visit VTF's FINANCIAL FORTITUDE page and read the Westchester County Press for tips and tools to help build your level of financial literacy. 

Partial funding for the articles is provided via a 2015 Community Empowerment Grant issued by the
Delta Research & Educational Foundation, a 501(c)(3) tax exempt entity.  The information in each article is publicly available and is not specific to you or anyone else. The information is provided for educational purposes and general knowledge only, and is not intended to be and does not constitute financial, investment, legal, trading, or any other advice.  Andrea Kelli Higgs and Carlene Laing contribute content to the articles, which are published bi-monthly. 

This article focused on RESOLVE and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (12.31.2015).

This article focused on
EXPERIENCE and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (12.17.2015).

This article focused on
BLACK FRIDAY and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (11.26.2015).

This article focused on
ESTATE PLANNING and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (11.12.2015).

This article focused on
HEALTH SAVING ACCOUNTS (HSAs) and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (10.29.2015).



This article focused on RISK TOLERANCE and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (10.15.2015).

This article focused on CREDIT CARDS and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (10.01.2015).

This article focused on
BUDGETING for the holiday season and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (09.17.2015).


This article focused on when is it time to consider an ALLOWANCE and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (09.03.2015).


This article focused on SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (08.20.2015).

This article focused on SAVINGS ACCOUNTS and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (08.06.2015).

This article focused on FINANCIAL LITERACY and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (07.23.2015).

This article focused on TAX FREEDOM DAY and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (07.09.2015).


This article focused on WEDDING costs and budgeting, and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (06.11.2015).

This article focused on the ESCHEAT process and unclaimed funds, and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (05.28.2015).

This article focused on BENEFICIARIES and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (05.14.2015).

This article focused on FICO SCORES and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (04.30.2015).

This article focused on a person's CREDIT SCORE and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (04.23.2015).

This article focused CREDIT REPORTS and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (04.16.2015).

This article focused on DISPOSABLE INCOME vs. DISCRETIONARY INCOME and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (04.09.2015).

This article focused on OPPORTUNITY COST and was published in the Westchester County Press on Thursday (04.02.2015).